Listen to a beautiful new piano version of 'Silent Night' by Aretha Franklin

19 November 2018, 14:38

Aretha Franklin new album
Picture: Rhino

By Tom Eames

A new Queen of Soul compilation will feature a previously unreleased Christmas classic.

Queen of Soul will be a compilation of Aretha Franklin's best loved songs, concluding with a new version of 'Silent Night'.

The original version of the track was included on Aretha's 2008 holiday album This Christmas. This new version features Aretha on piano, accompanied by her powerful voice.

The song will be available on The Queen Of Soul album, which is out on November 23, 2018. Listen to the song below:

Aretha Franklin - Silent Night (Solo Piano Version) (Official Audio)

“I was thrilled when Aretha called me to produce her long awaited Christmas record. It had been a dream of hers for decades,” said producer Tena Clark.

“Her beautiful spirit is radiant throughout the record and this new mix of ‘Silent Night’ showcases what an incomparable force she truly was, both on vocals and piano. There has and never will be a voice like the Queen of Soul.”

The album's second disc contains all 14 songs from A Brand New Me: Aretha Franklin With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, an album released last year, pairing classic vocals with new arrangements by The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

The full tracklisting is:

Disc One

1. “Respect”
2. “Chain Of Fools”
3. “Think”
4. “Rock Steady”
5. “Baby I Love You”
6. “I Say A Little Prayer”
7. “Son Of A Preacher Man”
8. “Dr. Feelgood (Love Is Serious Business)”
9. “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman”
10. “You Send Me”
11. “The Weight”
12. “Bridge Over Troubled Water”
13. “Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Going To Do)”
14. “Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)”
15. “Do Right Woman, Do Right Man”
16. “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)”
17. “Spanish Harlem”
18. “Ain’t No Way”
19. “Christmas Ain’t Christmas (Without The One You Love)”
20. “Silent Night” (Solo Piano Version)

Disc Two - With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

1. “Think”
2. “Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)”
3. “I Say A Little Prayer”
4. “Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Going To Do)”
5. “A Brand New Me”
6. “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman”
7. “Angel”
8. “Border Song (Holy Moses)”
9. “Let It Be”
10. “People Get Ready”
11. “Oh Me Oh My (I’m A Fool For You Baby)”
12. “You’re All I Need To Get By”
13. “Son Of A Preacher Man”
14. “Respect”

The album is the first to be released by Aretha Franklin's label since her death earlier this year.

Meanwhile, a 'lost' documentary about the Queen of Soul will finally be released over 45 years since it was made.