Has your star sign changed? NASA reveals there are actually 13 zodiac signs

15 July 2020, 10:40 | Updated: 15 July 2020, 11:15

By Sian Moore

The introduction of a new star sign has thrown the existing ones a little out of whack. Here’s your actual horoscope according to NASA...

NASA has unveiled a completely new zodiac sign, which means all of the other horoscopes have shifted.

It turns out that the Babylonians, who invented the zodiac signs more than 3,000 years ago, chose to intentionally ignore the the thirteenth zodiac sign, 'Ophiuchus' (which means 'serpent-bearer').

And now, because of the thousands of years which have passed since they were first devised, the sky has also shifted because Earth’s axis (the North Pole) doesn’t really point in the same direction anymore.

QUIZ: What is your musical horoscope?

Has your zodiac sign changed? NASA reveal there is a thirteenth star sign called Ophiuchus
Has your zodiac sign changed? NASA reveal there is a thirteenth star sign called Ophiuchus. Picture: Getty

Why have the zodiac signs changed?

When the Babylonians first created the zodiac signs thousands of years ago, it was probably because they felt the changing positions of the constellations throughout the year was important to the people on Earth.

They divided the zodiac into 12 equal parts – which fit perfectly with their 12-month calendar based on the phases of the Moon.

But, as NASA explains, the Babylonians were aware at the time that 13 signs existed, not 12: "So the Babylonians picked one, Ophiuchus, to leave out."

They ignored that the Sun actually moves through 13 constellations, so they could assign the existing star signs an equal amount of time.

"Besides the 12 familiar constellations of the zodiac, the Sun is also aligned with Ophiuchus for about 18 days each year," NASA has clarified.

There are actually thirteen star signs, NASA reveals
There are actually thirteen star signs, NASA reveals. Picture: Getty

So what are the new star sign dates?

According to The Sun, these are the dates of the 13 star signs including Ophiuchus.

Capricorn: January 20 to February 16

Aquarius: February 16 to March 11

Pisces: March 11 to April 18

Aries: April 18 to May 13

Taurus: May 13 to June 21

Gemini: June 21 to July 20

Cancer: July 20 to August 10

Leo: August 10 to September 16

Virgo: September 16 to October 30

Libra: October 30 to November 23

Scorpio: November 23 to November 29

Ophiuchus: November 29 to December 17

Sagittarius: December 17 to January 20