Kate Bush and Chaka Khan are nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2018

7 October 2017, 17:00 | Updated: 24 June 2018, 15:56

Nominees for induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2018 have been announced, and the roster is pretty stellar.

Induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is one of the biggest music events of the year, and usually sees some of the chosen few performing live.

The list of nominees for 2018's coveted title includes musicians from all genres. They are:

  • Bon Jovi
  • Kate Bush
  • The Cars
  • Depeche Mode
  • Dire Straits 
  • Eurythmics
  • J. Geils Band
  • Judas Preist
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • The Meters
  • Moody Blues
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Nina Simone
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • Link Wray
  • The Zombies

The only rules state that artists must have released their first commercial record at least 25 years prior to the year of the induction, meaning that the Class of 2018 will have released their first official recording no later than 1992. 

Ballots are sent to a body of more than 900 artists, historians and members of the music industry, including every living Rock Hall inductee.
Fans can also have their say on who's name is worthy to be placed among the likes of The Beatles, Joni Mitchell and Rod Stewart in the Hall of Fame.
Votes can be cast until December 5, 2017, at rockhall.com/vote.

The official 2018 inductees will be announced in December, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2018 Inductions ceremony is to be held in Cleveland on April 14, 2018.

Recent inductees have included the likes of Bill Withers, Chicago and ELO.