Cher's new album of ABBA covers Dancing Queen: Release date, tracklist and all the details

7 September 2018, 15:12

Cher ABBA album
Picture: Warner Bros

By Tom Eames

Cher has announced full details of her brand new album of ABBA covers!

This is easily the most Cher-thing to ever happen, and we're rather excited to hear the results.

Here are all the details you need...

  1. Cher ABBA covers album: What is it called?

    The album is titled Dancing Queen, and will feature Cher performing covers of many ABBA classics.

    Why, you ask?

    In case you somehow didn't know, Cher recently played the role of Meryl Streep's mother Ruby in Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again. In the film, she sang a version of ABBA's 'Fernando' and clearly got hooked on the Swedish group.

    Cher ABBA album
    Picture: Warner Bros

    “I’ve always liked Abba and saw the original Mamma Mia musical on Broadway three times,” Cher said. “After filming Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again, I was reminded again of what great and timeless songs they wrote and started thinking ‘why not do an album of their music?’.

    "The songs were harder to sing than I imagined but I’m so happy with how the music came out. I’m really excited for people to hear it. It’s a perfect time.”

  2. When is the release date?

    The album will be released via Warner Bros Records on September 28.

    It was recorded and produced in London and Los Angeles with Cher’s longtime collaborator Mark Taylor, who previously produced her massive 1998 hit 'Believe'.

  3. Which ABBA songs has Cher covered?

    Here is the tracklist:

    1. Dancing Queen
    2. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
    3. The Name Of The Game
    4. SOS
    5. Waterloo
    6. Mamma Mia
    7. Chiquitita
    8. Fernando
    9. The Winner Takes It All
    10. One Of Us

  4. Has Cher released any songs yet?

    Cher has released a teaser of 'Gimme Gimme Gimme':

    Cher - GIMME! GIMME! GIMME! (A Man After Midnight) [Official HD Audio]

    Cher has also released her version of 'SOS', and performed it on The Ellen DeGeneres Show:

    Plus, you can hear her version of 'Fernando' from Mamma Mia 2 below:

    Cher - Fernando Live Full Song HQ