The Carpenters are releasing a new album with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

2 November 2018, 12:42 | Updated: 2 November 2018, 12:56

By Tom Eames

The Carpenters produced some of the most beautiful pop songs of all time, and now they're being reimagined with a full orchestra.

Richard Carpenter has made a new album of Carpenters classics at London's prestigious Abbey Road Studios.

He has teamed up with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for a new album, to be released via Universal. The album will feature his late sister Karen Carpenter's iconic vocals placed on top of brand new orchestral arrangements.

10 facts about The Carpenters every fan should know

Carpenters With The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will be released on December 7.

The full tracklisting is:

1. Overture
2. Yesterday Once More
3. I Need To Be In Love
4. For All We Know
5. Touch Me When We're Dancing
6. I Believe You
7. I Just Fall In Love Again
8. Merry Christmas, Darling
9. Baby It's You
10. (They Long To Be) Close To You
11. Superstar
12. Rainy Days and Mondays
13. This Masquerade
14. Ticket To Ride
15. Goodbye To Love
16. Top Of The World
17. We've Only Just Begun

Listen to the new version of 'Yesterday Once More' below:

Yesterday Once More

The Carpenters' last album was 1981's Made in America, though Richard has released a number of posthumous compilations since then. Karen passed away in 1983 at the age of 32 from heart failure caused by complications related to anorexia.

The greatest Carpenters songs of all time

Richard has given a few updates on Instagram, including shots of him conducting the acclaimed orchestra.

We can't wait to hear the album, Richard!