Judy Garland movie starring Renee Zellweger: Judy trailer, cast, release date and soundtrack revealed

30 August 2019, 15:51 | Updated: 2 October 2019, 17:11

Renee Zellweger plays Judy Garland in 'Judy'
Renee Zellweger plays Judy Garland in 'Judy'. Picture: BBC Films/Getty

By Tom Eames

Renee Zellweger will portray the late showbusiness icon Judy Garland in an upcoming biopic about her later years.

From the release date, to the trailer and its cast, here are all the important information you need about Judy.

  1. Judy trailer: Is there a teaser?

    Yes, BBC Films unveiled a full trailer in May 2019, showing Renée Zellweger as Judy Garland for the first time.

    The trailer also gives a sneak peak as Zellweger singing as Garland.

  2. Judy release date: When does the film come out?

    The film will first be released in the United States on September 27, 2019.

    It then follows in the UK on October 4, 2019.

  3. Judy cast: Who stars in the biopic?

    Renee Zellweger
    Renee Zellweger. Picture: Getty

    Renée Zellweger plays Judy Garland in the movie, and she is joined by:

    - Rufus Sewell as Sidney Luft, Judy's third husband

    - Michael Gambon as Bernard Delfont, theatrical impresario

    - Finn Wittrock as Mickey Deans, Judy's fifth and final husband

    - Jessie Buckley as Rosalyn Wilder, the show's production assistant

    - Bella Ramsey as Lorna Luft, Judy's daughter with Sidney Luft

    - John Dagleish as Lonnie Donegan, legendary skiffle singer

    - Gemma-Leah Devereux as Liza Minnelli, Judy's daughter with Vincente Minnelli

  4. Judy plot: What is the film about?

    JUDY GARLAND Her Final Moments On Television 1969

    The film is based on the true story of Judy Garland’s final ever concerts in London in the late 1960s.

    The official synopsis reads: “Winter 1968 and showbiz legend Judy Garland arrives in swinging London to perform in a sell-out run at the Talk Of The Town.

    "It is 30 years since she shot to global stardom in the Wizard Of Oz, but if her voice has weakened, its dramatic intensity has only grown.

    "As she prepares for the show, battles with management, charms musicians, and reminisces with friends and adoring fans, her wit and warmth shine through.

    “Even her dreams of romance seem undimmed as she embarks on a courtship with Mickey Deans, her soon-to-be fifth husband. And yet Judy is fragile.

    "After working for 45 of her 47 years, she is exhausted; haunted by memories of a childhood lost to Hollywood; and gripped by a desire to be back home with her kids.

    "Featuring some of her best-known songs, the film celebrates the voice, the capacity for love and the sheer pizzazz of “the world’s greatest entertainer”.

  5. Judy soundtrack: What songs will appear?

    Judy soundtrack
    Picture: Decca

    The Judy soundtrack will be released via Decca Records on September 27.

    Zellweger will duet with Sam Smith for a brand new version of one of Judy Garland’s favourite songs, ‘Get Happy’, and also with Rufus Wainwright for a new rendition of ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas’.

    Long-time Judy Garland fan Sam Smith said: “When I was 17 years old I did a project on Judy Garland for my Film Studies A-Level. I was immediately immersed into the magic of Judy and her incredibly brave and triumphant story. She has remained as one of the icons of my life.

    "She was one of the bravest humans out there and her vulnerability and honesty in her art still gives me goose bumps like it did the first time. It was truly an honour to sing with Renée.

    Sam Smith
    Sam Smith. Picture: Getty

    "Nobody could have played Judy as well as Renée, and it is a career highlight for me to be singing with her, and in some small way, with Judy. I hope everyone loves the film as much as I did.”

    Rufus Wainwright, whose live album Rufus Does Judy at Carnegie Hall received critical acclaim, added: “Judy Garland has been a constant force in my life. The Wizard of Oz was one of the pyramids of culture that I gazed at as a small child.

    "It’s nice to come back and observe her again in the film and through this wonderful duet with Renee, her performance is astounding in a film that focuses on the love and the generosity that Judy always had for the world around her. It reminds me of how unique her life and art were.”

    The full tracklisting is:

    1. By Myself
    2. Get Happy (duet with Sam Smith)
    3. For Once in My Life
    4. Zing Went the Strings
    5. You Made Me Love You
    6. Talk of the Town
    7. Come Rain or Come Shine
    8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (duet with Rufus Wainwright)
    9. The Trolley Song
    10. The Man That Got Away
    11. San Francisco
    12. Over The Rainbow