Bruce Springsteen reveals new album of classic soul covers, Only The Strong Survive

30 September 2022, 14:20

Bruce Springsteen is paying homage to soul music legends.
Bruce Springsteen is paying homage to soul music legends. Picture: Columbia Records

By Thomas Curtis-Horsfall

The Boss is back.

And the 73-year old rock music legend has announced his brand new album of classic soul covers, Only The Strong Survive.

Having teased the announcement to his fans on his official YouTube channel, Bruce Springsteen has now revealed his first album since 2020's Letter To You.

Billed as a collection of “15 soul music greats”, Only The Strong Survive is set for release on November 11th via Columbia.

Alongside the unveiling of his new album, Springsteen has also released his cover version of Frank Wilson’s ‘Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)’.

Bruce Springsteen Announces New Album 'Only The Strong Survive'

In the announcement video - which you can see above - Springsteen told his fans that the record will celebrate an array of soul music classics from such catalogues as Motown, Gamble, and Huff and Stax.

Offering some backstory to the inspiration behind the album, Bruce says in the video: "I wanted to make an album where I just sang."

"And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies?"

"I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray and Scott Walker among many others," he continues.

"I’ve tried to do justice to them all — and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music."

"My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it."

Listen to The Boss's take on Frank Wilson’s ‘Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)’ in the official video which you can watch below.

Bruce Springsteen - Do I Love You (Indeed I Do) (Official Video)

Recorded at Thrill Hill Recording in New Jersey and produced by Ron Aniello, you can see the entire tracklist for Only The Strong Survive below:

1. ‘Only the Strong Survive’
2. ‘Soul Days’ (feat. Sam Moore)
3. ‘Nightshift’
4. ‘Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)’
5. ‘The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore’
6. ‘Turn Back the Hands of Time’
7. ‘When She Was My Girl’
8. ‘Hey, Western Union Man’
9. ‘I Wish It Would Rain’
10. ‘Don’t Play That Song’
11. ‘Any Other Way’
12. ‘I Forgot to Be Your Lover’ (feat. Sam Moore)
13. ‘7 Rooms of Gloom’
14. ‘What Becomes of the Brokenhearted’
15. ‘Someday We’ll Be Together’

Springsteen's 21st studio album comes after he recently confirmed a European tour in 2023.

The tour which spans from April through to July includes huge UK and Ireland dates at Dublin's RDS Arena, Edinburgh's Murrayfield Stadium, and two dates at BST Hyde Park in London.