Westlife announce new single 'Better Man' co-written by Ed Sheeran

27 March 2019, 16:06 | Updated: 12 April 2019, 09:58

National Television Awards 2019 - Red Carpet Arrivals
Westlife and Ed Sheeran have teamed up again. Picture: Getty

By Giorgina Hamilton

Westlife are back with the second single from their new album, and Ed Sheeran is also back on board.

The Irish group will be releasing the song 'Better Man', co-written by Ed Sheeran and Steve Mac, who also wrote Westlife's hit comeback single 'Hello My Love,' released in January earlier this year.

Kian Egan, Shane Filan, Nicky Byrne and Mark Feehily will release the single this Friday (March 29) as the next track from their first studio album in nine years.

Producer Fred Gibson joined Ed and Steve to work on the track, having previously worked on music for Ellie Goulding, George Ezra and Rita Ora.

The resulting song has been dubbed a "modern Westlife 2.0 ballad" by the band's Mark Feehily, and they will be performing it for the first time on The Jonathan Ross Show on Saturday March 30.

via GIPHY

When is the Westlife 2019 tour?

The group are playing 12 arena shows during their tour in 2019.

After announcing the group have signed a new record deal with Virgin EMI, The Twenty Tour will kick off in Belfast on May 25.

Playing around the UK at venues including Glasgow The SEE Hydro, Leeds First Direct Arena and The 02 in London, teh band will warp up the tour at Dublin's Croke Park on July 5.

Watch: Westlife's top 10 songs ever

The tour dates are:

Sat 25 May: Belfast SSE Arena
Sun 26 May: Belfast SSE Arena
Thu 30 May: Manchester Arena
Fri 31 May: Newcastle Metro Radio Arena
Mon 03 June: Glasgow The SSE Hydro
Fri 07 June: Sheffield Fly DSA Arena
Mon 10 June: Leeds First Direct Arena
Thu 13 June: London The O2
Tue 18 June: Nottingham Motorpoint Arena
Fri 21 June: Birmingham Arena
Tue 25 June: Liverpool Echo Arena
Fri 5th July: Dublin Croke Park

How do I get tickets for the Westlife 2019 tour?

Tickets for The Twenty Tour are available through Ticketmaster.

Access to the concerts are selling out fast - London, Belfast and Newcastle have low to limited availability - so be quick!

Buy tickets here